Sharing is Caring

Hi muffins!

I’m back after a two day hiatus. It was just necessary. BUT I have exciting things to share!

Remember the other day when I tried April’s protein brownies? Well, I decided to make the blondie version… and they came out SO GOOD. I cant stop eating them. Modifications include: no cocoa powder, vanilla protein powder instead of chocolate, 1 tsp vanilla instead of 1 tbsp, added 1 tbsp cinnamon, and added some chopped walnuts (will add more next time… DEFINITELY necessary).

Right out of the oven... clearly I couldn't wait to dig in

Guys, these were seriously good.

Close up

Is it weird that I find these babies so adorable?

All cut up and ready to go

BEST WAY TO EAT THEM?

SMOTHERED in Naturally More PB.ย OMG. This was incredible. I can’t really describe exactly how it tasted, but it was something like rich and decadent and, um, incredible. And re-living this moment right now is making me want, like, 5 more of these bad boys. Pronto.

Another thing I tried in the past 48 hours was some sort of Imitation Frap that has been circling the blog world (I forget which blog I read that inspired me to make this–otherwise I would link back, I’m sorrrrrry!)

Take that, Starbucks

Ingredients: 1 cup vanilla almond milk (unsweetened), 2 scoops chocolate rice protein powder (NutriBiotic), pinch (1/8 tsp) xanthan gum, stevia, ~8 ice cubes

The flavor was okay (I’m not the biggest fan of this protein powder–does anyone have suggestions how to make it less chalky?)… but I just CAN’T get the hang of xanthan gum. I know some of you bloggies swear by it, but I just can’t get it to thicken my shakes like I think it’s supposed to (and I’ve failed at makingย protein ice cream so many times). Do I need more ice? Do I need to use more gum? I’ve tried adding guar gum along with it, but the texture just ends up being so… gummy. Advice much needed/appreciated ๐Ÿ™‚

Anyway, I’m off to sweat it out at the gym. Catch ya on the flipsiiiide.

Love,

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sharing is Caring

  1. April is brilliant, no? Your blondies look amazingly delicious, and yes, I think I could eat 1 + 5 more easily. ๐Ÿ™‚

    OK, so the gums are tricky. I definitely always use them together and use about twice as much guar gum as I do xanthan. If your ice-cream/smoothies are too gummy, use less of each gum or add more liquid + ice. As far as the chalkiness goes in the protein powder, I’ve gotten used to it and love Jay Robb’s rice, but it’s not for everyone. I’m not sure which brand you’re using, but I would try another one. Contact a few different companies and see if they will send you sample sizes before you commit to one big container. Protein powder is not cheap! Hope this helps.

  2. I am loving your blog! I have also been dying to make some April recipes and this just confirmed the fact that I need to do so asap! I might try the blondie version since you made them sound so fabulous ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Michelle says:

    Those blondies are one more reason I can’t wait to get back home to my kitchen ๐Ÿ™‚ smart thinking with the modifications, I’m definitely going to make these!

  4. lifeistime says:

    I’m so glad you stumbled upon me! It’s great that we’re so similar. You’ll be my first offish blog rolly! haha. yayy

    Those blondies look sooo yummy! I want one right now. I also like that yogurt mess in one of your previous posts – yogurt, cottage cheese, pumpkin etc. I will definitely be making a similar concoction soon. I’m excited to see what other yummy treats you cook up!

    I lovvve working out! What do you do at the gym?

Leave a Reply

